When it's time for you to get rid of sensitive data, you must take extra care to make sure it is completely destroyed. When you delete a digital file off of your computer, it has not been completely destroyed. Instead, it has just been removed from your sight. Someone skilled enough with computer technology could still recover that file. To prevent this from happening, be sure to use total digital destruction methods to get rid of unwanted files that contain sensitive data.